Don't Miss a Single MWSA Post! Subscribe Here!

Monday, October 24, 2011

Military Writers Society of America Announces 2011 Book Award Winners

The Military Writers Society of America (MWSA) announces the winners of its 2011 book awards. The MWSA book awards recognize outstanding military-themed books in a wide range of categories from children to adult. The categories include fiction, non-fiction, spiritual/religious, individual service branches, poetry, business/how to, and others. Entries included books published by traditional, subsidy, self-published, and e-book formats.

Three authors received special recognition. Mike "Moon" Mullins received the 2011 Founder’s Award, the society’s highest honor, for Out of the Mist: Memories of War. Leila Levinson received the 2011 President’s Award for her book Gated Grief. Jack Woodville London is the first recipient of the organization’s new Author of the Year Award. London received the 2011 Author of the Year Award for his book French Letters. The William E. Mayer Award for Literary or Artistic Excellence went to Bonnie Bartel Latino for Christmas Whistles (Gold) and Jim Greenwald for False Honor (Silver).

In addition, Donald Farinacci was the winner of the Korean War Book Award for his history, Truman and MacArthur. MWSA, together with the Center for the Study of the Korean War, Our History Project, and Positively Pittsburg Live, was a co-sponsor of this special book award, which included a cash prize of $150, designed to raise awareness of the conflict known as the "Forgotten War."

"Out of the Mist was a labor of love," Mike Mullins said. "The men who let me interview them just blessed me. When I wrote it, I never thought about anything except preserving their history. I never thought what might come of it; it’s wonderful."

"This is the best day I’ve had since Gated Grief was published," Leila Levinson said. "I am really just humbled, and thrilled."

"I am absolutely stunned to be named Author of the Year," Jack W. London said. "I can’t think of a more flattering award. I did not see this coming at all."

"The annual Awards program is MWSA’s most important and exciting function. We focus on content, style, visual, and technique. Each year, more active military, veteran, and historians submit their work. Each year, the competition is more intense," says Joyce Faulkner, President of Military Writers Society of America, "and 2011 is no exception."

The Military Writers Society of America is an association of more than 800 authors, poets, artists, and photographers whose core principle is a love of the men and women who defend this nation, and an understanding and respect of their sacrifice and dedication.

MWSA 2011 Award Winners
Founder’s Award

Out of the Mist: Memories of War
by Mike "Moon" Mullins

 President’s AwardGated Grief
by Leila Levinson

 Author of the Year 2011French Letters: Engaged in War
by Jack Woodville London

 Korean War Book AwardGold Medal: Truman & MacArthur by Donald Farinacci
Silver Medal: War Remains
by Jeffrey Miller
Bronze Medal: The Untold Experiences
by C. Gilbert Lowery
Honorable Mention: Eddie & Bingo
by Kathleen & Katherine Taylor
1st Runner Up: Chitose Road
by Robert S. Ruehrdanz

 William E. Mayer Award for Literary or Artistic ExcellenceGold Medal: Bonnie Bartel Latino for Christmas Whistles
Silver Medal:
Jim Greenwald for False Honor

Historical Fiction/Event
Gold Medal: Victory Road
by Mark Bowlin
Silver Medal: David & the Mighty Eight
by Marjorie Hodgson Parker
Bronze Medal: Once a Knight
by Walt Shiel
Honorable Mention: Beyond Those Hills
by M.H.A. Menondji
1st Runner Up The Corydon Snow
by Richard Whitten Barnes
2nd Runner Up Look Long Into the Abyss
by A.R. Homer

Historical Fiction/Chronicle
Gold Medal: Shall Never See So Much
by Gerald Gillis

Historical Fiction/Protagonist
Gold Medal: For Love of Country
by William C. Hammond

Gold Medal: Laos File
by Dale A. Dye
Silver Medal; Loose Ends Kill
by Bob Doerr
Bronze Medal: I Know Why the Dogwoods
Blush by Bill Cain

Gold Medal: The Mullahs Storm
by Thomas W. Young
Silver Medal: Pirates & Cartels
by Lee & Vista Boyland
Bronze Medal: Project Dragonslayers
by Kathy Rowe

Gold Medal: War Remains
by Jeffrey Miller
Silver Medal: The Book in the Wall
by John F. Simpson

Gold Medal: Keeping the Promise
by Donna Elliott
Silver Medal: Lost Eagles
by Blaine L. Pardue
Bronze Medal: American Guerilla
by Mike Guardia
Honorable Mention: T-41 Mescalero: The Military Cessna 172
by Walt Shiel
1st Runner Up Eisenhower & Montgomery
by William Weidner
2nd Runner Up Targeted Killing
by Thomas B. Hunter

Gold Medal: DAI Uy Hoch
by David R. Hoch
Silver Medal: Lullabies for Lieutenants
by Franklin Cox
Bronze Medal: Wing Wife
by Marcia J. Sargent
Honorable Mention: We Came to Fight a War
by Jack Flynn & Alvin E. Kotler
1st Runner Up: Life Interrupted by War
by Thomas van Hees
2nd Runner Up: Earning My Wings
by Shirley Dobbins Forgan

Gold Medal: Aerial Aces of the Universal Newsreel
by Philip W. Stewart

Gold Medal: Women in the U.S. Armed Forces
by Darlene M. Iskra
Silver Medal: Grey Eminence
by Edward Cox
Bronze Medal: Beyond All Price
by Carolyn Poling Schriber
Honorable Mention: True Blue: A Tale of the Enemy Within
by Joe Sanchez & MoDhania

Non-Fiction/How To/Business
Gold Medal: Disability Compensation
by Thomas van Hees
Silver Medal: Breastfeeding in Combat Boots
by Robyn Roche-Paul

Non-Fiction/Creative Non-Fiction
Gold Medal: Incoming by Jack Manick
Silver Medal: Inside the President’s Helicopter
by G.T. Boyd and J. Boor

Gold Medal: A Prayer Journey through Deployment
by Donna Mull
Silver Medal: I Want to be the Fat Pretty One
by Lori Kathleen Cline
Bronze Medal: Bringing Courage to the Courageous
by Don Williamson
Honorable Mention: God + Military Spouse
by Lori Kathleen

Gold Medal: USAF Interceptors
by Mary Isham & D. McLaren

Gold Medal:
Sgt. Rock: The Lost Battalion by Billy Tucci

Gold Medal: Kings of the Green Jelly Moon
by King, Greenwald, Jellerson, Mullins
Silver Medal: Blooming Red
by Carolyn Howard-Johnson & Magdelina Ball
Bronze Medal: Through the Years
by James Jellerson

 Children/Ages 12 & BelowGold Medal: Klinger by Betsy Beard
Silver Medal: Our Daddy is Invincible
by Shannon Maxwell
Bronze Medal: The Sandpiper's Game
by Charles Boyle
Honorable Mention: Eddie & Bingo: A Friendship Tale
by Katherine & Kathleen L. Taylor
1st Runner Up: The Adventures of Briskey Bear
by Steve Bolt

Military/Air Force
Gold Medal: Two Gold Coins and a Prayer
by James H. Keeffe lll
Silver Medal: Safe Landings
by Fran McGraw
Bronze Medal: The Men Who Killed the Luftwaffe
by Jay A. Stout
Honorable Mention: Belle of the Brawl
by Gary A. Best

Gold Medal: Alan's Letters
by Nancy E. Rial
Silver Medal: Still Standing
by Jim Kosmo
Bronze Medal: The Sentinel & the Shooter
by Douglas W. Bonnot

Gold Medal: Obediently Yours, Orson Welles
by Ulman Bray

Gold Medal: The Seventh Angel
by Jeff Edwards
Silver Medal: Listening to Ghosts
by Robert (Bob) Stockton
Bronze Medal: The Untold Experiences
by C. Gilbert Lowery

Military/Coast Guard
Gold Medal: The Coast Guard
by Tom Beard

If your fellow writers or fellow soldiers or vets would benefit from this post, please use this little green widget to pass the news to your followers at Twitter:

No comments:

Post a Comment


Richard Lowry's Blog